Challenges / Events

My Monthly Challenge

Something I thought about doing at the beginning of this year, but never really jumped into, was a monthly challenge.  I’d pick one thing each month that would improve my life.  This could be a physical activity, learning something new, experimenting with a different routine, or creating a new habit.  I love the idea of it, but life keeps getting in the way.  Kids, travel, new job…All of that is making it hard for my flaky mind to buckle down.  That’s not to say that I’m not trying to improve things in the meantime, but I’m just not giving much focus to it.  I’m kind of flitting from one thing to the next, which really adds up to nothing.  By not giving a proper amount of attention to any one thing, I’m not reaping any of the possible benefits.

This changes now.

I’m hoping that, by posting this publicly, it will help hold me accountable to my challenges.

Since we’re already halfway through the month of August, I’m thinking about making my first challenge a longer one.  I’ve heard a lot of good things about the Couch to 5k program.  I’m not much of a runner.  In fact, I usually say that if you see me running, someone is chasing me with a knife.  However, as far as activity goes, I’m really not much of anything, anymore.  I just don’t seem to have the energy to keep up with anything or anyone.  This includes my children(and probably that knife wielding maniac).  Poor Little Bug is extremely active, she always has been, and Buddy Roo is on his way.  He’s very interested in keeping up with his big sister.  At almost 11 months, he’s doing a far better job of it that I am at 34 years.  I just can’t keep up with them, and it’s not fair to them.  I have no energy.  I don’t want to be like this anymore.

It’s looking like this program runs(no pun intended) for 9 weeks.  If I start right away, that puts me into October for finishing.  I think the perfect way to celebrate would be to run the M3RC 2nd Annual Octoberfest Beer Run. (The M3RC is theMidMichigan Multisport Racing Club.  Their focus is to promote health and wellness through a variety of sports and physical activities.) Since it’s at the beginning of October, I’ll have to adjust the Couch to 5k program just a bit, so that I’ll be ready.  I think that, by running four days a week instead of three, I can still do this without being overwhelmed or possibly injured.  I’ll still have plenty of time to rest in between workout days.

Besides being ready for the 5k in October, it will also put me in line to be ready for my next challenge.  For that, I’m looking at taking the 30 day green smoothie challenge organized by Simple Green Smoothies. I’d tried it once before, but didn’t finish.  The smoothies were very tasty, but I just slacked off.  Since I will have a good baseline of physical activity going in my life, the awesome nutrition offered by these will only enhance things, and I should have the motivation to keep it up this time around.  We’ll see!  Stay tuned to see the results of these challenges!

*I’m not the only one who does a monthly challenge.  My friend, Bethany, at Journey to Ithaca, challenges herself (and others) to donate at least $1 to a different charity or fundraiser each month.  This month is for my friend’s daughter, Maryn, and the Congenital Heart Walk.*

How about you?  What sort of challenges to you give yourself?  Do you do a monthly plan, or take them as they come?  Are you interested in joining me in any of these challenges?  Speak up!

9 thoughts on “My Monthly Challenge

  1. You’re going to LOVE running!

    My monthly challenge is to walk more after my runs and in general. I think walking is underrated as an exercise–so good for you! -H (iamlyons.com)

    • Walking is awesome exercise! I ran a bit in high school, but just never had a great love for it. I’m hoping that will change after this challenge. Even if it doesn’t, it still puts me in a great place to try other activities that I may love more.

  2. I love the idea of a monthly challenge! I just signed up for my first 5k since having Kaiya, it’s November 2. Even though our 5ks are a month apart, I’ll join you in your Couch to 5k challenge 🙂

  3. I’m doing a 10K on leave after deployment with one of my friends (this event is also in MI, Birch Run). I have never ran any sort of organized event, but have been running year round for the past 10 years…and I’ve always wanted to try one. I doubt you’ll have any issues preparing for a 5K in that amount of time.
    The monthly challenge concept is cool…probably something everyone could use.

  4. I want to do the green smoothie challenge but I am worried about breastfeeding… will it be safe? I’ve been told not to do the “cleansing” ones.

    • This is in no way a cleansing or juicing type of challenge. It is simply adding a green smoothie(or two) into your daily diet. This isn’t exclusionary at all, or meant to be a meal replacement. Just check out the recipe you’re using, and all should be fine. Some have a higher concentration of herbs, or are specifically listed as “cleansing.” Those, you just avoid, and use a different recipe. Essentially, the green smoothies are a way to add in extra servings of vegetables and fruits into our diets, that are usually lacking in those areas.

      Okay, now I feel kind of like a preacher and want to throw out a, “Can I get an ‘Amen!’?”

Leave a Reply

