On the Homefront / Uncategorized

For Those Grappling with “Gentle Parenting”

The Badass Breastfeeder wrote a post today that really sums up my views on parenting, and the struggles therein.  I am certainly struggling between my instincts, and my “wants.”  Having what I believe is a Spirited Child, my patience is much lower than I had hoped.  One of those many instances where our pre-parenting beliefs supersede reality.

Things have been such a whirlwind lately, and I’m sorry for lagging behind.  Updates will be coming soon… Have a wonderful week!

2 thoughts on “For Those Grappling with “Gentle Parenting”

  1. Thanks for the link. I think Gentle Parenting is a very often misunderstood concept. Not using punishment (or not using punishment very often) does not mean not using discipline. The word discipline means “to teach,” and punishment is rarely the best way to teach something.

  2. Exactly. Discipline is so often only thought of as punishment, that when you say you try to avoid spanking, etc. it’s assumed that you just let your child run around like the miniature crazy person they are. As with just about everything in parenting, there is no one right way, and even the things we believe aren’t always followed as much as we’d hope to.

Leave a Reply

