Introductions

What do you mean, “Hippie Tendencies?”

Hippie tendencies…a phrase that’s come up often in trying to describe who I am.

I come from an area in Michigan that’s not exactly known for it’s green living-unless you’re counting the folks that are glowing. However, whether it’s been through exposure during our many moves, or influence from the internet, I’ve come to have some green leanings. In certain areas, most of these are no big deal, and I would be viewed as someone who has a long way to go before I can light my celebratory nag champa incense. Back home, and with many people I talk to, I apparently come across as a little “out there.”

How so?

I cloth diaper and extend nurse my children. I delay vaccinations, and selectively refuse some. I have tried to remove all chemical cleansers and fragrances from my home. I make my own almond milk. Then there’s the gardening, composting, and avoidance of prepackaged and processed foods. Other things that may or may not land me in a commune someday are my belly dancing, thrift store shopping, alternative medicines, and my recent foray into green smoothies.

So why don’t I just slap on the patchouli and call it a day?

Well, because I drive a tank. I’ll drink a soda now and again. I use regular litter in my cats’ litter box. I have plastic cups, plates, and toys in my home. I use disposable diapers on short trips. I don’t always buy organic and/or local. I eat meat. This list could go on and on, but I’m sure you get the drift by now.

For me, it’s not about being completely one way or another. It’s about doing what I can, when I can, and in the way that works best for me and my family at the time.

12 thoughts on “What do you mean, “Hippie Tendencies?”

  1. Jamie, I would like to encourage the continuing of this blog!! I love your take on things. Even…If ya are a bit twisted!! (smiley face) Thanks for being you!!

    • Thank you for all of the support and advice you’ve been giving me, Bethany! I don’t think I would have gotten this up and running without your help and inspiration. 🙂

  2. Hi Jamie! Great post – really looking forward to following along and learning more about those hippie tendencies! 🙂 Welcome to the world of blogging – hope you enjoy it as much as I have!

  3. Pingback: Friday faves, there’s an app for that. | Living Simply Free

  4. I’m with you – always been called a hippie by the bf (as he drove me to the food coop to get my volunteer induction). People are a lot of contradictions though, nothing is set in stone. (PS coming to you thank to Lois’ link at livingsimplyfree)

    • I am well aware that I deviated from the norm for where I come from, and most of the people I knew. So, calling myself “hippie” helped to break the ice a little bit and make people more comfortable. Would things be different had I stayed there? Absolutely. Aaron says I already had those leanings inside of me, and the places we lived helped to bring them to the forefront. He’s probably right. Thank you for checking me out!

Leave a Reply

